topleft >  Services >  Governance Technology > 

Legal Resources |  |    80047  

Chapter 1. Credentials Issued Under The Teacher Preparation and Licensing Law of 1970 Article 2. Credential Types, Authorizations, and Requirements Credentials, Certificates, and Authorizations to Provide Instructional Services to Students with Primary Disabilities: Specific Learning Disability or Mental Retardation (Mild/Moderate)   

arrow Previous bar Next arrow

Holders of the listed credentials, certificates, and authorizations are authorized to teach students with mild or moderate disabilities in which the primary disability is "specific learning disability" as defined in subsection 300.8(c)(10) of Title 34 Code of Federal Regulations, Subpart A or "mental retardation" as defined in subsection 300.8(c)(6) of Title 34, Code of Federal Regulations, Subpart A.

(a) Education Specialist Instruction Credential: Mild/Moderate Disabilities

(b) Education Specialist Instruction Credential, Certificate, and Added Authorization: Early Childhood Special Education

(c) Special Education Specialist Instruction Credential for the Learning Handicapped

(d) Standard Teaching Credential with the Minor-Mentally Retarded

(e) Restricted Special Education Credential-Educable Mentally Retarded

(f) Limited Specialized Preparation Credential-Mentally Retarded

(g) Special Secondary Credential-Mentally Retarded

(h) Exceptional Children Credential-Mentally Retarded

(i) Holders of the Education Specialist Instruction Credential: Language and Academic Development are authorized to teach students who fall within the disability categories in this section with academic communication and language needs in the following areas: language development, school readiness and social skills, and literacy development addressing competencies across the curriculum in listening, speaking, reading, writing, and academic areas

Authority cited:

Education Code 44225


Education Code 44265

Education Code 44343

34 C.F.R. 300.8(c)(6) and (10)

20 USC 1401(3), (14), (15), (16), (29) and (30)

(Amended by Register 2011, No. 31.)