topleft CSBA.org >  Services >  Governance Technology > 

Chawanakee USD  |  AR  5148.3  Students

Preschool/Early Childhood Education   

arrow Previous bar Next arrow

When approved by the California Department of Education (CDE) under the California State Preschool Program (CSPP), the district may operate one or more part-day preschool programs in accordance with law and the terms of its contract with CDE. The district currently operates a self-funded co-op preschool program.

(cf. 5148 - Child Care and Development)

The district's preschool program may include all required program components, as described in 5 CCR 18272-18281 and AR 5148 - Child Care and Development, for the educational program, the creation of a developmental profile for each child, staff development, parent involvement and education, community involvement, health and social services, nutrition, and program evaluation. (5 CCR 18271-28281) The district co-op preschool has established a set by laws to delineate procedures and expectations for parents, staff and District.

Minimum Hours/Days of Operation

The district's part-day preschool program may operate a minimum of three hours per day, excluding time for home-to-school transportation, and for a minimum of 175 days per year unless otherwise specified in the program's contract. (Education Code 8235; 5 CCR 18136)

Staffing

The preschool program may maintain an adult-child ratio of at least one adult for every eight children and a teacher-child ratio of at least one teacher for every 24 children. If the district cannot recruit a sufficient number of parents/guardians or volunteers to meet the required adult-child ratio, teacher aides shall be hired as necessary. (5 CCR 18135, 18290)

(cf. 1240 - Volunteer Assistance)

(cf. 6020 - Parent Involvement)

Any person employed at a district preschool and any volunteer who provides care and supervision to children at a preschool shall, unless exempted by law, be immunized against influenza, pertussis, and measles in accordance with Health and Safety Code 1596.7995 and AR 5148 - Child Care and Development. Documentation of required immunizations, or applicable exemptions, shall be maintained in the employee's personnel file. (Health and Safety Code 1596.7995)

(cf. 4112.4/4212.4/4312.4 - Health Examinations)

(cf. 4112.6/4212.6/4312.6 - Personnel Files)

In addition, preschool teachers shall present evidence of a current tuberculosis clearance and meet other requirements as specified in Health and Safety Code 1597.055.

Wraparound Child Care Services

In accordance with its contract with CDE, the district may offer full-day services to meet the needs of eligible families through a combination of part-day preschool and wraparound child care services that are offered for the remaining portion of the day or year following completion of the preschool services. Child care and development services offered through this program shall meet the requirements of general child care and development programs pursuant to Education Code 8240-8244. (Education Code 8239)

Wraparound services shall operate a minimum of 246 days per year unless otherwise specified in the contract. Within this period of time, the part-day preschool program shall operate 175-180 days. After the completion of the preschool program, a part-time general child care and development program may operate a full day for the remainder of the year. (Education Code 8239)

Eligibility and Enrollment

Children eligible for the district's CSPP program include those who will have their third or fourth birthday on or before December 1 of the fiscal year that they are being served. Children who have their third birthday on or after December 2 may be enrolled on or after their third birthday. (Education Code 8208, 8235, 8236)

Eligibility for the CSPP program shall be as follows:

1. Children may be eligible for subsidized preschool services if their family is a current aid recipient, income eligible, or homeless and/or the children are recipients of protective services or have been identified as being, or at risk of being, abused, neglected, or exploited. (Education Code 8235, 8263, 8263.1)

2. Children may be eligible for subsidized wraparound preschool and child care services if their family meets at least one of the criteria specified in item #1 above and needs child care services due to either of the following circumstances: (Education Code 8239, 8263)

a. The child is identified by a legal, medical, or social services agency, the district liaison for homeless students, a Head Start program, or an emergency or transitional shelter as being a recipient of protective services, as being or at risk of being neglected, abused, or exploited, or as being homeless.

(cf. 6173 - Education for Homeless Children)

b. The parents/guardians are engaged in vocational training leading directly to a recognized trade, paraprofession, or profession; are engaged in an educational program for English language learners or for the attainment of a high school diploma or general educational development certificate; are employed or seeking employment; are seeking permanent housing for family stability; or are incapacitated.

The Superintendent or designee may consult the county's centralized eligibility list, when available, or may maintain a district waiting list in accordance with admission priorities. As vacancies occur, applicants may be contacted in order of their priority. (5 CCR 18106)

First priority for enrollment in a preschool program may be given to neglected or abused children ages 3-4 who are recipients of child protective services or who, based upon written referral from a legal, medical, or social service agency, are at risk of being neglected, abused, or exploited. If unable to enroll a child in this category, the district may refer the child's parent/guardian to local resource and referral services so that services for the child can be located. (Education Code 8236; 5 CCR 18131)

(cf. 1400 - Relations Between Other Governmental Agencies and the Schools)

(cf. 1700 - Relations Between Private Industry and the Schools)

After all children with first priority are enrolled, the district may give second priority to eligible children 4 years of age who are not enrolled in a transitional kindergarten (TK) program prior to enrolling eligible children 3 years of age. (Education Code 8236)

After all otherwise eligible children have been enrolled, the program may provide services to children with disabilities who are ages 3-4 and whose family income is above the income eligibility threshold. (Education Code 8235)

In addition, after enrolling all eligible children, up to 10 percent of the program's enrollment, calculated throughout the entire contract, may be filled with children who exceed the age limitations and children whose family income exceeds the income eligibility threshold by no more than 15 percent. (Education Code 8235; 5 CCR 18133)

The district may certify eligibility and enrollment up to 120 calendar days prior to the first day of the beginning of the preschool year. After establishing eligibility at the time of initial enrollment, a child shall remain eligible for the remainder of the program year. (Education Code 8237; 5 CCR 18082)

The district's decision to approve or deny a child's enrollment may be communicated to the family through a written Notice of Action mailed or delivered within 30 days from the date the application is signed by the parent/guardian. (5 CCR 18094, 18095, 18118)

(cf. 5145.6 - Parental Notifications)

Subsequently, the Superintendent or designee may mail or deliver a Notice of Action to a parent/guardian at least 14 calendar days before any intended change in services, including, but not limited to, an increase or decrease in fees, an increase or decrease in the amount of services, or termination of services, due to any of the following circumstances: (5 CCR 18095, 18119)

1. A determination during recertification or update of the application that the need or eligibility requirements are no longer being met or the fee or amount of service needs to be modified

2. Failure of the parent/guardian to document the family's need or eligibility after the district requested such documentation in writing

3. An indication by the parent/guardian that he/she no longer wants the service

4. The death of a parent/guardian or child

5. The conclusion of a limited-term agreement, provided that the parent/guardian has been informed in writing of the date that the services would terminate

For each child enrolled in the district's preschool program, the Superintendent or designee may maintain a family data file including, but not limited to, a completed and signed application for services, documentation of income eligibility, and a copy of all Notices of Action. For each child not receiving subsidized services, the family data file may also include records of the specific reason(s) for enrolling each child, the child's family income, and evidence that the district has made a diligent search for children eligible for subsidized services. (5 CCR 18130, 18133, 18081, 18084)

(cf. 1340 - Access to District Records)

(cf. 3580 - District Records)

(cf. 5125 - Student Records)

Fees and Charges

Fees for participation in the district's preschool program shall be assessed and collected in accordance with the fee schedule established by the Superintendent of Public Instruction (SPI). (Education Code 8273; 5 CCR 18078)

(cf. 3260 - Fees and Charges)

However, no fee shall be charged to an income-eligible family whose child is enrolled in a part-day preschool program or a family that is receiving CalWORKs cash aid. (Education Code 8273.1; 5 CCR 18110)

A family may be exempt from the fees for up to 12 months if the child qualifies for preschool on the basis of being the recipient of child protective services or as being, or at risk of being, abused or neglected. (Education Code 8273.1)

The Superintendent or designee may establish a process that involves parents/guardians in determining whether to require parents/guardians to provide diapers and/or whether and how much to charge parents/guardians for field trip expenses, within the limit specified in law. A child shall not be denied participation in a field trip due to the parent/guardian's inability or refusal to pay the fee, and no adverse action shall be taken against a parent/guardian for that inability or refusal. (Education Code 8273.3)

Disenrollment Based on Reduced Funding

When necessary due to a reduction in state reimbursements, families shall be disenrolled in the following order: (Education Code 8236, 8263.3)

1. Children 3 years of age whose families have the highest income in relation to family size shall be disenrolled first, followed by children 4 years of age whose families have the highest income in relation to family size.

At each age level, if two or more families have the same income ranking, the child with disabilities shall be disenrolled last. If there are no families that have a child with disabilities, the child who has received services the longest shall be disenrolled first.

2. Families of children 3 or 4 years of age who are receiving child protective services or who have been documented to be at risk of being neglected or abused regardless of income, shall be disenrolled last.

Expulsion/Unenrollment Based on Behavior

A district preschool program shall not expel or unenroll a child based on the child's behavior, unless the district first takes the following actions to address the child's behavior: (Education Code 8239.1)

1. Inform the parents/guardians of the child's persistent and serious challenging behaviors and consult with the parents/guardians and teacher in an effort to maintain the child's safe participation in the program

2. If the child has an individualized family service plan (IFSP) or individualized education program (IEP), with written parent/guardian consent, contact the agency or district employee responsible for such plan or program to seek consultation in regard to serving the child

(cf. 6159 - Individualized Education Program)

3. If the child does not have an IFSP or IEP, consider if it is appropriate to complete a universal screening of the child, including, but not limited to, screening the child's social and emotional development, referring the parents/guardians to community resources, implementing behavior supports within the program, and considering an IEP for the child

If the district has taken the actions specified in items #1-3 above and the child's continued enrollment would present a serious safety threat to the child or other enrolled children, the district shall refer the parents/guardians to other potentially appropriate placements, the local child care resource and referral agency, or any other referral service available in the local community. Within 180 days of the start of the process, the district may unenroll the child. (Education Code 8239.1)

Children with disabilities may only be suspended or expelled in conformance with the procedures and limitations of the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act.

Parent Hearing

If a parent/guardian disagrees with any district action to deny his/her child's eligibility for subsidized preschool services, disenroll the child due to a funding shortage, increase or decrease fees, increase or decrease the amount of services, terminate services, or otherwise change the level of services, he/she may file a request for a hearing with the Superintendent or designee within 14 calendar days of the date the Notice of Action was received. Within 10 calendar days of receiving the request for a hearing, the Superintendent or designee shall notify the parent/guardian of the time and place of the hearing, which, to the extent possible, shall be convenient for the parent/guardian. (5 CCR 18120)

The hearing shall be conducted in accordance with the procedures specified in 5 CCR 18120 by a district administrator who is at a staff level higher in authority than the staff person who made the contested decision. Within 10 calendar days after the hearing, the district administrator shall mail or deliver a written decision to the parent/guardian. If the parent/guardian disagrees with the written decision, he/she may, within 14 calendar days, appeal the decision to CDE. (5 CCR 18120-18122)

Regulation CHAWANAKEE UNIFIED SCHOOL DISTRICT

approved: February 12, 2019 North Fork, California